Wiring your own LAN
Personal menu
Welcome Guest
User:
Pass:
Register!
Resend Validation Email

Forum
Pages (2) [1] 2   ( Go to first unread post )

Very confused about WinASM & ASM in general, Warning: super noob here

Evlesoa
Quote Post

Group: Members
Member No.: 64406

Sponsored Links
Okay, I'd like to try WinASM, but every book I look at has a different syntax than what every IDE/Compiler out there seems to have. I've been reading The Art of Assembly, and I bump into another problem: the syntax used there is HLA, I guess, which means it looks a lot more like C and a lot less like the assembler that I am used to in Cheat Engine. I even tried FASM, but I will do that when I become more proficient in general assembly (CE is my motivation, really).

Right now I'd like to know how to start since every tutorial out there looks very different and only seems to work with "specific" compilers. That confuses a noob like me (especially since half of them say you need a linker, and half say you don't). The only thing that looks familiar to CE in syntax is http://www.wiremod.com/forum/cpu-tutorials/271-assembly-programming-tutorial.html

Anyway, I have no idea where to start now. Can someone tell me what to read or what is reliable? There's MASM, FASM, WinAsm, MASM32 (different from MASM?), ZASM, NASM, LZASM, POASM, VASM, YASM, etc. What in the world is going on?

Let me say this: I understand computers to a good extent because I did computer engineering for a few years, but never finished. So, I get the whole binary and hex stuff, along with what registers are and memory allocation (a general understanding, ok), but I don't know how I can start "writing something." From my perspective, clearly just moving around pieces of memory doesn't make programs without having a GUI to command and labels to define.

Please explain. Otherwise is it better to just learn C from a book because it has a streamlined syntax and all compilers work in relatively same fashion?
PMEmail Poster